top of page
  • Writer's pictureSahil

Custom Laser Cut Map

Updated: Nov 12, 2023

For this project, My goal was to create a map of my hometown out of sheets of laser-cut plywood.

 

Obtaining a Vector Map

While maps are easily available for people to look at, getting a vector file a laser can understand is pretty difficult. To start, I looked around for sources that allow exporting as an SVG. Openstreetmap has an option to export as SVG, so, I zoomed into the section of my town that I wanted to make and exported the map.


Once I had an SVG, I had to clean it out. Openstreetmap has many layers for houses, roads, buildings, water bodies, etc. I selected what I wanted to keep and deleted the rest.

Planning

I converted the lines to outlines and separated the layers to how I wanted them in the final product.

Once I had vector files the laser could understand, I made a mockup of the final design on Fusion 360.


Cutting & Engraving

Once I had a design I was happy with, I converted the vector file into one the laser can understand. The total laser time was around one hour.


Painting

After getting all of the cuts complete, I painted the bottom-most layer blue with spray paint to represent the water in the lakes and ponds.



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page