top of page
  • Writer's pictureSahil

Soldering Workbench

Soldering is a vital skill for any DIY enthusiast or hobbyist, but it comes with its own set of challenges. One significant concern is the exposure to harmful fumes generated by flux and lead-based solder. These fumes are not only unpleasant but also pose health risks if inhaled regularly. To solve this issue, I created a workbench that integrates a fume-extraction system.


The result is a specially designed and constructed desk that serves as a robust workbench for assembling and soldering my projects. The standout feature of this desk is the integrated downdraft fume extractor. Capable of an impressive 400 CFM (cubic feet per minute) of airflow through carbon filters, this extractor efficiently pulls away harmful fumes from my work area, ensuring they don't linger near my face. This feature not only enhances the safety of my workspace but also makes the soldering process more comfortable and enjoyable.

In addition to its health benefits, the desk is designed with practicality in mind. It includes conveniently placed storage shelves, perfect for organizing all my tools, screws, and components. This means everything I need is within arm's reach, making my projects more streamlined and efficient. The entire desk is constructed using plywood, resulting in lower costs and increased durability.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page